Can't issue refund

jjacobs11
Contributor
Contributor

I work as an independent contractor and received a payment from a business yesterday that they made to me in error. They have requested that I refund the payment and I have followed the paypal steps: Click Activity, click transaction, but I do not see an "issue refund" button anywhere on the screen. I initiated chat with paypal customer service and have tried 4 different internet browsers at their suggestion, cleared cache, but the button still does not show.  Can anyone advise?  The business is holding my correct payment (which is considerably more) until I refund the incorrect payment. 

Thank you! 

Login to Me Too
7 REPLIES 7

Manny171
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

@jjacobs11

what nation are you in? I would advice for you to do the 1st thing. follow these steps

#1 login to your account

#2 check your Paypal Balance summary

#3 make sure the company even sent you the money in the 1st place

that is (KEY)

you know the company name?

when did they send the money?

Locate the Transaction Number if there is any.

did you create an (Invoice)?

do you have a Business account as a Paypal setup?

it sounds shady the company I mean if you don't see a way to Refund 

anything is because I don't think you got any payment from them. follow these steps only if you have a (Business account)

#1 login to paypal account

#2 create an (invoice)

#3 charge for the work you did $$

#4 than the company pays you

that's a secure way to take a (TRANSACTION) other than that? you **bleep** yourself because none of

what your going through? make sense I hope I gave you enough information friend.

anymore problems with something & I have the answer? don't hesitate to ask☺

but I would advice to console again with a (Paypal Agent) only because I don't want to create more of a problem

& give you information you should not be doing. it's just a consideration so think things through so you don't get