Re: Important information about your PayPal account

temp20210610
New Community Member

I'm new to Paypal. I'm unable to understand its tedious and complicated process.

Firstly I thought that it is like a payment intermediary like Paytm; Google pay; Phonepe, AmazonPay etc. (like we have so many in India). Millions of Indian are availing free payment (send / receive) services from all these payment intermediaries (small transactions are not business). So the account opening process was a tedious process. I had to unnecessarily create a business account and give my credit card details and bank account details. In fact, I'm not into any business. I participate in international market surveys / studies and so for receiving honorarium for the same, they asked for a paypal account. It is a non commercial activity and not a business activity.

Sharing bank account details for receiving the payment is not an issue. Because I use the UPI (Unified Payments Interface) where payment intermediary companies use the mobile no. linked to the bank account to create UPI ID to send and receive the payment from / to the bank account. But why take the credit card details?

I am not into any business activity and had to perforce open the business account to receive this international payment which is just an honorarium.

There is no buyer - seller or business activity involved. I'm not buying or selling any product or service.

So I'm unable to understand why Paypal asks me to open a business account for receiving these overseas payments.

Secondly I'm not able to understand the fees of 2.95 $ in a payment of 50 $. Who is charging this fee / brokerage? Is paypal taking this fees? Is paypal a broker?

There is tab of refund this payment and so I thought that I can seek refund of the fee of 2.95 $.

And the payment is not getting credited to Paypal account.