Upcoming Change to PayPal Subscriptions

MTS_Ciaran

PayPal is making changes to the way Subscriptions are created, managed, and displayed. For additional information, see our article Why am I seeing changes to how Subscriptions are reflected?

Login to Me Too
98 REPLIES 98

auctionstealer
New Community Member

So in reference to this statement:

What field is deprecated in the merchant profile page for I- Subscriptions?
The item_number and custom_number will not be shown in the merchant profile page for I- Subscriptions.

Is there a way to access the item_number from within our PayPal accounts at all?  Will we still be able to see it on the Subscription Details page?  If not, what info will be displayed ( custom field )?  We just want to make sure we still can identify the subscription product from paypal.com when looking at a subscription directly.

Thanks in advance!

Login to Me Too

HenryGe

The message is hard to be read and understood.

As a developer, I just want to know:

should I convert all subscription id with S-xxx in the database to I-xxx?

will the change affect my IPN script? should I change the IPN logic?

any official's help?

I have to say paypal is getting worse year by year.

80% of customer choose paypal to pay recurring payments 2 years ago, but now only 20% choose paypal, 80% choose stripe.

Login to Me Too

MTS_Ciaran

@HenryGe - No, you do not need to convert everything. existing subscriptions will stay as S- for the time being. New subscriptions being created will have I- so you will need to support both formats. 

The only logic you need to code for is in the subscr_payment IPN, the transaction_subject variable will work like this:

• in case of S-: transaction_subject has 'custom_code' value
  • in case of I- : transaction_subject has the 'item_name' related to the subscription
Login to Me Too

docdunning
Contributor
Contributor