cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suspicious Text.

Member

Suspicious Text.

Hi,

I received a suspicious text on my mobile phone.

The message contained the following:  Log in to your PayPal and update you billing and payment information, your account will permanently suspended.Confirm Now <removed>

I have copied the text exactly, it looks like it was written by an idiot.

Cheers, John.

3 REPLIES
Volunteer Advisor

Re: Suspicious Text.

@Canonman71

 

If its a spoof, DO NOT USE ANY LINK.

Firstly if the email/ text addressed you as ''Dear Member'' / ''Customer'' / ''Client'' OR your ''email address'' then that confirms its a spoof as paypal would address you by your full name eg Dear John Smith.

Secondly if there was a link OR attachment in that email to ''cancel'' the transaction or ''confirm'' any details then again it would be a spoof.

If there was a problem with your account paypal would not ask you to click on an unsafe link in an email or by downloading an attachment, they would direct you to log in normally and go to the resolution or the message centre for more information.

More info here >>
https://www.paypal.com/us/selfhelp/article/how-to-spot-fake-emails-faq2340/2
https://www.paypal.com/uk/webapps/mpp/phishing


Advice is voluntarily given.
Kudos / Solution appreciated if I helped you.
Member

Re: Suspicious Text.

It wasn't a email I don't have an iPhone, it was a SMS text message. The message was exactly as I typed it in my original post and not addressed to anyone.

Volunteer Advisor

Re: Suspicious Text.

@Canonman71

 

I didn't say it was an email did I, I stated this...........

 

Firstly if the email/ text addressed you

 

And the rest of my advice still stands.

 

Secondly if there was a link OR attachment in that email to ''cancel'' the transaction or ''confirm'' any details then again it would be a spoof.

 

From what I read there was a link in the text???

 

If there was a problem with your account paypal would not ask you to click on an unsafe link in an email or by downloading an attachment, they would direct you to log in normally and go to the resolution or the message centre for more information.

 

And again they would not ask you to click on a link etc they would tell you to log into the m.c. or r. c ..............and they haven't have they?

So surely my advice applied to your post / message?


Advice is voluntarily given.
Kudos / Solution appreciated if I helped you.