Scam ?

JMAA101
New Community Member

Need assistance as I am new to PayPal and unsure if this email is genuine. I need to send money before I receive payment? "Hi my name is Mary and its my pleasure to help you. This transaction is 100% legitimate and safe. This message is originated from PayPal company services. Be aware that you are 100% safe with PayPal service and you do not need to worry about anything concerning this transaction as we are currently holding the money which is $3,650.00 AUD therefore you should make proper arrangements on how to get the Pickup Fee of $989.00 AUD sent to the address given to you by the buyer (Terence <removed>) so that we could be able to credit your bank account after you have sent us the Ria Money Transaction/Reference Number given to you at the Ria Money Transfer Services where you sent the money. As the part of our policy, this transaction is currently on hold in your Commonwealth Bank Account, We will only credit the money into your bank account after the successful completion of the whole transaction. Refusal to complete this transaction will only lead to a self-caused delay of our crediting the money into your bank account. The transaction has been screened and has proven to be 100% legal and real. You are hereby advised to go ahead with the transaction and send out the $989.00 AUD to the bearer before we are able to credit your bank account. Thank you for being a PayPal customer. Sincerely, PayPal." Please advise. Thanks in advance

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@JMAA101 

Absolute SCAM.

Paypal do not do escrow, any payment will show in your paypal balance BEFORE you have to send an item.

Paypal NEVER tells a seller to send funds for anything or for any reason apart from if a refund is required.

Paypal do NOT credit your bank account direct, it goes to your paypal balance and then you withdraw it when you want to.