Questions about taking international payments...?

jacobacro
Contributor
Contributor

I am an acrobatics teacher based in the USA and I am setting up an acrobatics workshop on the island of Sicily.  People are paying me from all over Europe.  I am trying to do this right and pay the least in Paypal fees possible.  

1.  What currency should I collect in?  My home currency is USD.  Many are paying in Euros.  Say someone pays me in Euros and I need to issue a refund.  Is it just as easy to refund them if I have the currency converted to US.  I mean, if their money is converted from Euros to Dollars when they pay me, can I still issue a refund and the fee is refunded and the student gets their money back in Euros?

2.  I am using a Paypal business account.  Do I have to pay the 4.4 percent fee in every transaction?  When I collect money a 4.4 percent charge is deducted.  After the acrobatics workshop is over I have to send half of the money to my friend who is based in Italy and his main currency is Euros.  When I pay him his half do I have to pay the 4.4 percent transaction fee again?  That money would have the 4.4 percent fee applied to it twice.

-Jacob

Login to Me Too
1 REPLY 1

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@jacobacro 

The best way is to invoice in USD across the board in the amount you want and receive it in USD if the receiving PayPal account is US based and only be charged the 4.4% + 30 cents PayPal fee and let the buyer deal with the currency exchange/conversion rate, otherwise you'd be dealing with both the PayPal fee and the exchange rate/conversion fees.

Yes, for receiving payments you are charged the PayPal fee. 2.9% +30 cents for domestic payments and 4.4% + 30 cents cross border/foreign PP account payments. PayPal is providing a service so we need to pay them for it same as any other payment processing service. You can include the expense in your service price. Say, your service is $50, charge $55.