Jefferson Capital

IsThisAScam1
New Community Member

I am not getting anywere with the PayPal customer service line or their messaging system. I received a letter from Jefferson Capital attempting to collect a PayPal debt. However, when I log in to my account, by PayPal account appears current. Is this a PayPal scam? I don't think I can trust PayPal.

Login to Me Too
5 REPLIES 5

mbrogan
New Community Member

I got a letter from CBE group trying to collect for Jefferson capital systems, for a Paypal debt.  WTF????  No idea where this came from.  Called a number, and they asked for SS # for ID.  Yeah right.....

Anybody else get a collection letter from either of these outfits?

Login to Me Too

Rox8
Contributor
Contributor
mbrogam, I also got the same letter it is from Jefferson Capital for some old debth of $47.00 I am new with PayPal as of this past April 2021 WTH?
Login to Me Too

zenlawguy
Contributor
Contributor

Has PayPal addressed this problem with this Jefferson Capital (JCap) scam? I saw one generic response from PayPal saying, "sorry for the confusion" and that they sold some delinquent accounts to JCap. That doesn't answer the BIG question: Why are those of us who have solid PP accounts without any negative balance getting letters and emails from JCap saying we owe money on past due PP accounts? This isn't merely "confusion," PayPal; it's a scam and you're letting it happen. I'm closing my PP account. There's too many options out there that won't stand for a fraudulent company scamming its customers.

Login to Me Too

PayPal_JonK

Hello @zenlawguy, @Rox8, and everyone,