I'm a bit suspicious

Jaydee5
Contributor
Contributor

Does anybody know if I give my paypal email address out can it be hacked or scammed from a potential buyer ? I got an unusual email from someone asking to buy an item from me but the wording of the email doesn't sit right with me, it was telling me not to sell my item to anyone else and that they would send a courier to collect said item and even going as far as not just buying my item for the full price but also offering an extra $50 to buy it, that seems strange to me all of it does. So any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Jaydee5 

As long as you didn't give her your password you are fine 😁

I've been helping on here for about 10 years and post that information for folks about 6 times per day.

The scammers want your MONEY and if you ignore them then they just move on to the next potential victim.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Jaydee5 

SCAM.

They encourage you to accept a 'direct' Paypal payment and often offer you a great 'deal' to lure you in. 
No funds or activity of the transaction shows in your Paypal account and any emails 'may' go into your junk/spam folders.

They don't quibble on cost and may also say they can't view the item but don't sell to anyone else and they will arrange a shipping agent to collect it.

You will get/got a "fake" email that looks as though it is from paypal.....it isn't because they don't actually have a Paypal account and have no intention of paying you.
It will say the buyer has paid ...you won't have been paid.