How safe is PayPal

Evie790
Contributor
Contributor

Hi everyone, I'm new to the whole PayPal thing. I set it up as I am trying to sell an item for €500. I have received an email from someone interested in the item. They are asking for my PayPal details, but there's an inconsistency in the name in their email address and how they're spelling it at the end of the email. What potential scam could be going on if I gave them my details, and if/when payment goes through can they cancel it after the courier, they say they want to send, has collected the item. Advice greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Evie790 

In order for you to receive payment, you have to either send a PayPal invoice, so the buyer can pay it or they can send you payment to your PayPal email address (don't need to give names) Don't need names to send PayPal payment, just email address or phone number. If someone is access an account to to send you unauthorized payment and IF your type of transaction is eligible for seller protection (straightforward physical item that can be shipped to shipping address on the payment with proof of postage/delivery), PayPal will cover you.

Beware of fake payment confirmations and buyer emailing telling you they paid but to do this, or pay that before PayPal releases or shows the funds in your PayPal account which is not how PayPal works. If someone really paid, you will see a record of payment in your PayPal account so always log on to check, don't just believe emails. 

Post-payment, if your payment is subject to PayPal's 21 day hold, the transaction details will tell you what to do next. It should tell you to ship or not.