Prepaid Master Card... Not working ?

Beckeehhh18
New Community Member

I have a prepaid master card and I tried to link it up with my paypal account BUT  it says the card is not correct, yet I've contacted the card company . I have  money left on it and it hasn't expired. Before  you ask, yes I did punch in the number correctly.

Can someone help me ?

Login to Me Too
10 REPLIES 10

rb_tools
Contributor
Contributor

The fact is - PayPal are theives.  And they don't allow pre-paid credit cards.  I am dealing with the same problem now.  I've bought $300 worth of pre-paid credit cards and now I realize that I'm out $300 because they are basically becoming useless online... and not only that, but they are non-refundable once you buy them.  You see, PayPal refuses to allow these pre-paid's because they want you to disclose all of your permanent financial info to them.  Look at how you can't even get "verified" unless you disclose your bank account to them.

I am in fact furious right now.  I bought a $75 pre-paid and entered it into PayPal.  They allow you to enter in the card, without telling you that they don't accept it.  Then I go to make the payment... Surprise!  Not only will they not complete the payment for me, but they send visa an "authorization" for the amount.  So my paypal account shows nothing, yet VISA shows a $75 hold on the pre-paid card.  So, I get on a conference call with both PayPal and VISA to see if I could get PayPal to fax a note to VISA or something to get it straightened out.... Paypal says "sorry, there was no payment made by PayPal so we have nothing to fax" - VISA says "sorry, if they don't have anything to fax, then we have to wait for the computers to take the hold off automatically which could take 2 weeks!!!!!!!"