Currency Conversion Error?

em37
New Community Member

Hi, I've been trying to convert my dollar balance to my pounds balance so that I can use it. I've been using paypal for a couple of years now and convert dollars to pounds all of the time with no issue whatsoever.

But the past few days whenever I try I receive this error after clicking to convert my dollars to pounds, trying again doesn't work either? I thought it might go away if I waited, but it's been three days now and this error occurs every time I try to convert currency. It's really annoying, since I can't use my money whilst it's in this state? I can't withdraw to my bank unless it's converted to pounds!

Thank you!

z.png

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

bpyper
Contributor
Contributor

Hey guys! I have been having this problem too. I just got off of chat with a PayPal rep and they helped me fix it. Go into Money then "Add A currency" and add the currency you are trying to convert FROM. For example, I added British Pound since I am trying to convert from that to USD. Once it is added, go back and try to convert the currency. It worked for me!! Hope this helps!

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
29 REPLIES 29

PayPal_Olivia

Hi @em37,

I'm sorry to hear that you've encountered an error when trying to convert funds. You should not need to convert prior to withdrawal, as the withdrawal process should allow a conversion in the course of the withdrawal if the bank is in a different currency than the funds.

For further assistance troubleshooting and reporting this issue, please reach out to customer service.

To contact customer service, please click Contact at the bottom of the PayPal website for available options, or reach out by PM on Facebook or DM on Twitter.

I hope this can be resolved quickly!

Olivia