Possible scam?

MargaretMM1
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

I am new to PayPal. I posted my electronic on Kijiji and got offer for more than I asked with mention to send it to US. I said yes to the offer at the beginning and got message <removed>  with well known end: 

"We at PayPal are using this medium to write you that this PayPal®  payment of $550,00 USD has been deducted from the buyer's account and has  been "APPROVED" but will not be credited to your account until the shipment reference/tracking  number collected from FEDEX / USPS  is sent to us for verification..

WARNING: Do not provide the Reference Tracking details to the buyer till we confirmed the Postage and your account been credited.
**PLEASE NOTE**
PLEASE, DO NOT DELETE THIS MAIL AND IF THIS EMAIL IS IN YOUR SPAM MAIL FOLDER, MARK IT AS "NOT SPAM ".
Note: We advise you to get back to us with the Reference Tracking details once the goods is been posted at:  xxxxxx before your funds can be Processed"

I got suspicious as why PayPal will use gmail to contact me? It was with my name and last name as person texted me with questions, saying they need it to to the transaction. I contacted PayPal and got information it was a phishing email. Person is texting me with shipment saying I will get my money once I ship the item and that money is pending. I have NO information on my PayPal account though, not on hold, simply nothing. I googled names of people who said to sent me money and those who are about to get package. They don't exist on facebook/instagram/linkedin!

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@MargaretMM1

This is a typical scam

They encourage you to accept a 'direct' Paypal payment and may ask you to send the item internationally.
No funds or activity of the transaction shows in your Paypal account and any emails 'may' go into your junk or spam folders.