Name change

nestorickm
Contributor
Contributor

So let me start with i am extremely new to paypal. So i put the account in my name and start selling some cards off eBay. I got money and i was going to set up a paypal cash account. Basically keeping the money on here and not transferring it. Well, i lost my ss card. So i thought oh ill just update my name to my moms show a bill she had drivers license and id be able to get the money. Like i said very new.....and i also didnt have any of the other documents to verify my id as i have not had a real job that has given one of those documents. I also didnt read what it said until realizing after that you cant really switch that account to someone elses name or thats what ive been reading. I just wanna know that im not going to get banned or something along those lines because i just made this account and have money sitting in the account waiting to be accepted when the people that bought cards from me recieve said cards. 

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@nestorickm 

Alright, cool. Looks like its working. 🙂 When transfer marked complete, means PayPal has processed your request to transfer and let it go through. Then the clock starts 'til the funds get to your bank account. Almost home free. 😉

Kudos & Solved are greatly appreciated. 🙂

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@nestorickm 

Yes, you cannot switch names to someone else's just like that. So what's the problem; just provide your SSN, DOB, confirm your name and billing address. Wait, I guess you have not confirmed the PayPal account by linking a bank account. 

Are they asking for documents?

You can always get a replacement SS card: https://www.ssa.gov/ssnumber/

You can get your State ID at you DMV.

Login to Me Too

nestorickm
Contributor
Contributor