I am not a US citizen but PayPal thinks i am and demands SSN to receive money

AsterW12
New Community Member
Hello, I'm an international student currently studying in the US. I linked my international Credit card issued in China to my paypal account. I was able to pay People via PayPal with this Chinese bank card. However when someone (my US citizen friend) sent me money, PayPal asks me to set up an PayPal cash account, which demands American SSN. I don't have a SSN and I'm not even a US citizen! This is ridiculous. I was able to pay my US friend and a friend in Brazil with my Chinese credit card. Is there a way for me to set up cash account with Chinese ID? There was another option to send this money to a bank account. However they seem to only let me tranafer to American bank accounts which im unwilling to open one because it's too much trouble.
Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@AsterW12 

Then don't accept the money and you do not have a US bank account to link to the PayPal account to withdraw directly to so the decision is made for you.

This is a relatively new policy for US personal PayPal accounts since April 1 2019.  Its fine if you are paying with card or bank account to make purchase and withdrawing direct to US bank account or maybe to associated debit card but using the PayPal balance without it being a PayPal Cash/Cash Plus account to hold funds/send/receive is not permitted.

Kudos & Solved are greatly appreciated. 🙂

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
2 REPLIES 2
Solved

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@AsterW12 

Then don't accept the money and you do not have a US bank account to link to the PayPal account to withdraw directly to so the decision is made for you.