How do you hide a dead name on PayPal?

Wyvern-King
Contributor
Contributor

Is there any way to hide a dead name while still on a personal account? It makes me sick and anxious to see my dead name every time I send an invoice for an art commission, but I do not have my name legally changed as of yet. I absolutely hate having people know my dead name and knowing people see it is just... Honestly uncomfortable.

I'm new to this whole site and just trying to make some money in commissions, but my dead name showing on invoices has made me too anxious to even send one invoice out to my clients. Would changing my name on my business information in an invoice affect my account and transactions and render them useless? I don't mind my preferred name being shared online, but having my dead name out there is something I'm really not okay with. Shouldn't PayPal have some sort of preferred name support for transgender users by now?

It's probably dumb of me to ask this, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also sorry if this is posted in the wrong area or given the wrong labels, this is my first time posting.

Login to Me Too
27 REPLIES 27

Wyvern-King
Contributor
Contributor
That’s definitely a start! Start looking around for lawyers who help us LGBT folk out too if you can, and honestly don’t let up tweeting and talking about it regularly! They gotta respond eventually after all.
Login to Me Too

I have also lodged a complaint with them: