downgradde from business account to personal ?

beaniemama
New Community Member

is there any way i can do this ? i cant seem to find an option 

Login to Me Too
591 REPLIES 591

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@LyndseyD92 

There is no automatic way to downgrade a business account to a personal account, you have to contact customer services and they will do that for you.
You can click on help / contact bottom left of every Paypal page for contact options for your country.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

gringos
Contributor
Contributor

Hi

I have sent emails to the customer support team a countless times in the past few weeks regarding the downgrading of my PayPal account, but I have never gotten response. Apparently, I registered my PayPal account as a business account some times last year. However, it was until recently that I realized the mistake. I work as a freelancer and I only use the account to receive mass payments from my freelancing endeavours. 

A few week ago, I received a notification email that was instructing me to provide the necessary documentation that would enable me to verify my account, which is registered as a business account. I have not registered any company or email which makes it tricky for me to secure the documentation required. I learnt that my account could be downgraded to a personal account which is ideal for me and which I can easily provide the documents required for the verification process. How  can you help me downgrade the account. 

Don't advice me to call, because I'm not in the US and the calling charges are so exorbitant. I'm just wondering why PayPal has not been responding. Is there any help that I can get. I'm kinda stranded and not able to receive any payments anymore. I also would like to verify my account, but the documents that I can obtain are related to personal verification. @PayPal_Olivia 

Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor