Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Downgrade PayPal from Business to Personal

SOLVED
Highlighted
Contributor

Downgrade PayPal from Business to Personal

Hi

I have sent emails to the customer support team a countless times in the past few weeks regarding the downgrading of my PayPal account, but I have never gotten response. Apparently, I registered my PayPal account as a business account some times last year. However, it was until recently that I realized the mistake. I work as a freelancer and I only use the account to receive mass payments from my freelancing endeavours. 

A few week ago, I received a notification email that was instructing me to provide the necessary documentation that would enable me to verify my account, which is registered as a business account. I have not registered any company or email which makes it tricky for me to secure the documentation required. I learnt that my account could be downgraded to a personal account which is ideal for me and which I can easily provide the documents required for the verification process. How  can you help me downgrade the account. 

Don't advice me to call, because I'm not in the US and the calling charges are so exorbitant. I'm just wondering why PayPal has not been responding. Is there any help that I can get. I'm kinda stranded and not able to receive any payments anymore. I also would like to verify my account, but the documents that I can obtain are related to personal verification. @PayPal_Olivia 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Esteemed Advisor

Re: Downgrade PayPal from Business to Personal

@gringos 

To request your account is downgraded please follow the steps below:

1. Go to www.paypal.com(your country) and log in to your account.
2. Click Contact near the bottom of any page.
3. Select Email us.
4. Choose ‘Managing My Account’ in the Topic box, then select ‘Change account type’ in the Subtopic box and lastly select 'Downgrade my account' from the drop-down box.