Cannot login when outside of the country where I first registered with PayPal

Greg33
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

I was recently traveling outside of the U.S. for several weeks and was not able to login to PayPal at all.  Placed calls to PayPal and spoke to a total of four different people.  They all gave the same ludicrous excuse - PayPal will not allow logins if outside the country where the account was first registered.  This is absolutely beyond belief.  I travel extensively during the year and outside of the U.S. for several months at a time.  Does PayPal really not think that people might actually travel sometimes and have a need to access accounts when not sitting in their own home or office?  I've been using PayPal for many years and this was never a problem until just a few weeks ago.  If I provide all the information requested during login - email, password and security code texted to my phone, that should be more then sufficient to allow access to my account.  One of their "customer service" agents even had the nerve to tell me that I would need to create a new PayPal account in each country I was visiting if I wanted to be able to utilize PayPal.  Their non-answers and excuses are truly not appreciated - if they are not willing to provide even a minuscule amount of help, they shouldn't be wasting my time by even answering the phone .  I had also requested to have my call escalated and speak to a supervisor and everyone I spoke to said that it's not possible and they have already done all they can do - which was completely nothing.  They must have an entire training session on different ways to give the same excuses.  Seriously, PayPal should consider a name change - perhaps to PayEnemy since they are certainly no "Pal" to me.