Between countries

ozsubrosa
Contributor
Contributor

Hello, I'm probably not the only person this could apply to, but I haven't seen it resolved elsewhere. I'm a UK resident, but I've owned a property in Spain for many years and used it for holidays. Now I'm retired, I'm still a UK resident but I spend longer periods of time in Spain. I have a Spanish bank account but, as a non-resident, I don't have any debit or credit card on a Spanish account.

I'd like to purchase items on ebay (for example) but I don't want to keep having them sent to my UK address and physically bringing them over to Spain myself. I tried adding my Spanish address to my current Paypal account but that didn't work out. Can I add my Spanish address and pay directly using my UK bank account? Are UK debit/credit cards unuseable on Paypal if I request sending to Spain? Is my only option to set up a new, different Paypal account with my Spanish address and bank details? That's my least favourite as I'd be constantly switching money around. Any ideas?

Login to Me Too
5 REPLIES 5

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@ozsubrosa

Paypal is country specific so if you move country you have to open another paypal account in that country and add an address / phone number / and bank accounts from within that country.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

ozsubrosa
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the quick response. As most of my affairs are in the UK, I was hoping to just add an additional address. Still, for small/cheap items, it shouldn't be too much of a headache to create a Paypal account that takes money out of my Spanish bank account. But... this is Spain! It's never easy.

Login to Me Too

ozsubrosa
Contributor
Contributor