Failed to connect to host Input Server Uri = https://pilot-payflowpro.paypal.com/

jibboo
Contributor
Contributor

I have been using PayFlowPro for over 10 years.  Recently (maybe 6 months or so) I have been unable to test any changes when submitting transactions to the test server (pilot-payflowpro.paypal.com).  This is code that I haven't changed in probably 3 or 4 years.  Strangely, if I switch the transaction to the live server everything works as expected.  This is only occurring no the test server.

Response Message:

Failed to connect to host Input Server Uri = https://pilot-payflowpro.paypal.com/

Here is the full response:

RESULT=-1&RESPMSG=Failed to connect to host Input Server Uri = https://pilot-payflowpro.paypal.com/

I thought maybe the Pilot url might have changed ... but as I'm reading all the latest news about TLS1.1 being discontinued; I see the pilot-payflowpro.paypa.com link is indeed still being used ... does anyone have any idea?

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

jibboo
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for asking ... actually I hadn't tried the test server (pilot-payflowpro) in quite a while.  I just ran a test transaction and it went through.  I'm guessing this is due to some recent server updates I made; forcing Windows Server to use/deny certain protocols.

Paypal emailed me regarding their PayFlowPro requiring TLS 1.2 to transmit ... I ran some tests on my server to check the SSL and make sure I supported TLS 1.2.  Which led me to updating the protocols due to the security results from SSL test.

You can test your server by plugging in your domain here:  https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/

Here's my current results (which I'm guessing lead to pilot-payflowpro.paypal.com working like it used to):

Protocols
TLS 1.3No
TLS 1.2Yes
TLS 1.1No
TLS 1.0No
SSL 3No
SSL 2No