PAYPAL STOLE FROM ME!!!

Hotcurry
New Community Member
I’ve been selling items on eBay since 2002 without issue, but back in October 2019 I sold an iPhone 8 to a buyer in Armenia and experienced my first issue. I’d never sold to Armenia before, but the buyer had many transactions and I figured it would be fine. It was not fine. The buyer requested I send the item to an airport in the Armenia capital via USPS. I thought this was odd, but figured he had good reviews and was excellent at communicating with me, so I should be fine. What I learned after sending the package is there is no tracking of packages within the country of Armenia, no matter what class of mail you purchase. A month after sending the item the buyer left an expletive laden message in my inbox accusing me of being a thief. It was Thanksgiving and I was out of town, but I tried to calm him down saying I would do my best to get to the bottom of where the package was. But before I could even call the post office he had already started a claim against me and left several more vile and accusatory messages in my inbox. This guy went from pleasant to lunatic in zero seconds. I immediately contacted eBay who informed me this is a scam perpetrated by buyers who live in places where they know packages cannot be tracked. They order electronics, report them as missing then keep the electronics AND your money. eBay took about an hour to research the case and sided in my favor. I thought the whole mess was done but Paypal froze my account and said I had no buyer protection. They accused me of being a fraudulent buyer even though eBay sided with me!! They stole $268 from my account and handed it over to this thief!!! I quickly sent Paypal proof of my shipment along with the customs form and tracking number. But paypal contends that if the package doesn’t show as delivered, they will ALWAYS side with the buyer and the seller is just out of luck. I’m livid. I did everything by the books. I sent the item via the shipp