Money on Hold, am I being scammed?

DoubleDD114
Contributor
Contributor

I've recently sold a laptop via Facebook Marketplace and the buyer asked if I could ship it to them and they would send me the money via Paypal. 

I agreed and I went and sent them the laptop and sent them and Paypal the tracking number for confirmation. It's been about a little over a week since this has happened (6/11/2019) and I have still yet to receive my payment. It keeps on saying that it's pending. 

I keep asking the buyer to see what's the problem but I now I can't get in contact with them? 

Help!!! AM I BEING SCAMMED? 

Login to Me Too
23 REPLIES 23

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@DoubleDD114 wrote:

The tracking says delivered on (6/17/19). So does this mean I am being scammed or not? I'm very new to this and I need all the help I can get. 

Thanks 

Duyen 

Is there a payment transaction for the amount of the laptop that is marked "On Hold" in red in your PayPal account, that is crucial to the answer.

Kudos & Solved are greatly appreciated. 🙂
Login to Me Too

DoubleDD114
Contributor
Contributor

No, I do not see it marked as "on hold". 😪😩

Login to Me Too

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@DoubleDD114 wrote:

No, I do not see it marked as "on hold". 😪😩

Hold up, don't cry just yet. Do you see the transaction for the laptop money under the Completed section of the Activity page? Do you see the money for the laptop in the Available PayPal balance?

Login to Me Too

DoubleDD114
Contributor
Contributor

Nooo the only thing I see is the screenshot of what I have sent before. I don't see a paypal balance anywhere or a completed section anywhere. 

Login to Me Too

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@DoubleDD114 

The screenshot is still now appearing yet, it's some warning icon placeholder at the moment as it has not been approved yet.