Buyer is threatening dispute unless I refund his downpayment. - Freelance writer

Markvincent777
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

I need help/advice on how to proceed with my predicament.

I'm a freelance writer and last Nov 7, I entered into a signed-contract with a buyer (digital document with signature). 

Deliverable: A series of articles totalling 17,500.
Due date: Nov 15, 2019

We agreed on a 50% downpayment for the writing commission, which client has already paid for via paypal. The remaining payment was to be paid upon receipt of deliverables. 

In our contract is a "late submission fee" clause, which states that a penalty fee amounting to 10% of the total payment will be deducted for every 24-hour day that the deliverables our late.

I've been late for 2 days. Our contract also has a Termination clause that provides for a 15-day notice and a written termination agreement.

Now, my buyer is threatening to file a dispute despite our contract if I do not refund the 50% downpayment.

What can I Do? I'm only using a Personal and NOT business paypal account. I don't live in the US.

Desperately, 

Vince

Login to Me Too
9 REPLIES 9

PayPal_Siobhan2

Hi Markvincent777, 

Thank you for contacting the PayPal Community Forum!

The country location and PayPal account type will not affect you in this case so please do not worry about that. However, the buyer is eligible to open a dispute on a transaction they have made through PayPal. If this happens, you will be requested to provide evidence supporting your side of the claim. 

- Siobhan 

Login to Me Too

Markvincent777
Contributor
Contributor
Thank you for replying, Siobhan! I know the dispute process is for me and my client to reach an amicable settlement. However, if things to escalate to a claim, will our contract the he agreed to and signed and eventually breached/prematurely terminated hold any water? How can i properly prove delivery of my digital goods, in this case, word files? Thanks, Vincent