How do you hide a dead name on PayPal?

Wyvern-King
Contributor
Contributor

Is there any way to hide a dead name while still on a personal account? It makes me sick and anxious to see my dead name every time I send an invoice for an art commission, but I do not have my name legally changed as of yet. I absolutely hate having people know my dead name and knowing people see it is just... Honestly uncomfortable.

I'm new to this whole site and just trying to make some money in commissions, but my dead name showing on invoices has made me too anxious to even send one invoice out to my clients. Would changing my name on my business information in an invoice affect my account and transactions and render them useless? I don't mind my preferred name being shared online, but having my dead name out there is something I'm really not okay with. Shouldn't PayPal have some sort of preferred name support for transgender users by now?

It's probably dumb of me to ask this, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also sorry if this is posted in the wrong area or given the wrong labels, this is my first time posting.

Login to Me Too
27 REPLIES 27

LeopardBunny

There is a VERY simple solution to this which PayPal refuses to add. Simply add a "Preferred name" option under the legal name, which will be used instead of the legal name if not left blank when interacting with clients or using the site. This should be no different than having a business name for business accounts instead of the owner's name.

PayPal's continued refusal to accommodate trans people is nothing short of discriminatory behavior when so many sites before them have managed perfectly well.

Login to Me Too

EmeraldFishy

Huge seconding this. It's wild to me that this hasn't already been implemented.

Login to Me Too

mollyesbian
Contributor
Contributor