Several Questions as I'm new to Paypal and my account is limited after 1 transaction?

loracmgt22
Contributor
Contributor

Hi , I opened a Paypal account about 2 weeks ago, made 2 transactions, and now apparently I understand Paypal gets to hold the $400.00 balance I have in there for 6 months???   Is that how it works? 

Anyway thats not my biggest issue,

I was uncomfortable opening the account in the beginning, but after day 2, I'm told I had to send all of my very personal information: Passport, Social Security Number, Credit Report, Home Phone number, information about my employment, my income, my email, which I had to fax all to you, so that you had everything. 

So after I sent everything in, I told them I'm not interested in "Paypal" anymore (even though the experience was great), I told them to remove the limit I'll withdrawal my money, you can close the account, and thats the end of Paypal and I.

I got a response back of "No"

Just..."No."

I would think it's funny but it's not when you have all my information now. 

I am not sure if you now keep the $400 balance, but that I'm not as concerned about, as the fact that you had me send all my personal information.  And after 1 person sent money 1 time for $400?  

It doesn't add up at all, I'm extremely uncomfortable, and the fact that you #1 Don't have an email address for general support (I don't think)
2) Think you can hold people's money hostage
3) Are not even open 24 hours a day to answer phone calls, (while freezing money that doesn't belong to you)

seems odd...

How all this happened after 1 transaction seems a bit more odd.  My daughter is an attorney but she said she doesn't know a thing about how these procedures work.  She did say it seems unusual to freeze money, when your not actually a bank, or financial institution.  Your just a payment method intermediate, same as visa and Mastercard.