How do we know if an item is taxable?

mousey
Contributor
Contributor

I am going to be selling .pdf files that after payment I will direct the customer to a download page. How do I know if I should charge tax and how much?

I am very new at this and if someone could help me it would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Mousey

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

skier
Advisor
Advisor

That's your homework assignment, you need to reseach your States Sales Tax regulations.

Each state is different when it comes to collecting state sales tax. In many cases you only need to apply state sales tax if the customer resides in your state. Additionally, within many states there are various tax rates according to the county and town the customer resides in.  It's best to contact your state revenue service to find out anything you have questions on. Once you have all the info you need, you can complete your PayPal Tax Table.

Regards,

skier

Login to Me Too

mousey
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Skier,

Thank you for helping me.

Sincerely Barbara Del Duco

Login to Me Too

skier
Advisor
Advisor

No problem.

Regards,

skier

Login to Me Too

SpankyGrant
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Mousey.

This is my first night trying to figure out using PAYPAL for a online business, and I came across your initial question by accident. I wanted to ask how you are directing a customer to a download area after payment as that is what I also need to do.

I recently bought a download-able QT movie using PAYPAL, and immediately after payment I received an email from the merchant  directing me to a link that would stay open for an hour once I started downloading.  I thought this was kinda cool and wanted to set up something very similar (albeit with slight more security if that is at all possible)

I was just curious if this was all setup through PAYPAL , or you are using custom code. Any help greatly appreciated as I have been trolling for info for quite a while.