What information do I need to give a buyer for them to pay me?

Hippo1
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to selling things online and have a buyer who wants me to give them my PayPal email address, phone number and full PayPal name, pick up address, final price, and the items name.

The address I realise I obviously need to give them, but I was under the impression I only needed to give them my email address for them to pay me first. They already have my phone number (it was on the advert), not sure why they need my full PayPal name, I've already quoted the price several times and the item name - well, that was on the advert too.

The buyer is not picking the item up in person but is sending someone else.

Is this all legitimate or should I be wary?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Hippo1

Read my post again, you have 0 seller protection for items that are personally collected or delivered.

So i would never accept paypal for those items.

The buyer could pay you > you transfer it to your bank account > they collect the item and then they file a paypal dispute for non receipt of item.

As paypal ONLY accept a tracking number to prove an item has been delivered then you would lose and have to pay the buyer back again or risk losing your paypal account and the 'debt' sold to a debt agency.

So i would tell everyone 'cash on collection' only, then that would stop the scammers contacting you again.

This sounds like a typical scam, they never want to see the item and always say they are sending their own courier.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Hippo1

THIS SOUNDS LIKE A SCAM, READ THE BELOW SO YOU ARE AWARE HOW IT WORKS  >>