Being paid via PayPal - can this be a scam?

MickM
Contributor
Contributor

I'm selling a previous generation brand new 32GB iPod for $250 on the Boston Craigs List. A new current generation one from Apple costs $300. So I get an email from a guy in Africa claiming he'd pay me $250 plus an extra $100 shipping and that he'd pay me via PayPal (provided I forward him the PayPal email address).

This has scam written all over it (and I'm certainly not proceeding with the transaction), but if he's paying in advance via PayPal then I'm scratching my head as to how this guy can scam me. Any ideas?

Login to Me Too
63 REPLIES 63

Jesg1985
Contributor
Contributor

I think I just got scamed. I was selling something for 1,200USD on craigslist the same day I got an email from a person who was interested in buying it. He provided me with a gmail address so we could chat on yahoo messenger. Long story short he agreed to pay 2,000USD and sent the money to my paypal account. I'm new to paypal and was not aware of the scams going around. The money shows up in my paypal account and today I transfered all the money to my bank account. I called paypal because it shows that the tranfer was made but I dont see the money in my bank account. I was told to wait 3-5 days. The paypal agent said "I grarantee that the money will be in your bank account in less than 5 days" Hey, those calls are monitored and recorded right? and he guaranteed my money would be there. What would happen if they request a charge back and the money is already in my account? OR if the money never gets to my bank account? Would I be charged If i spend the 2,000USD? will paypal or the CC company hold me responsible? ( i didnt mail anything anywhere. what i sold didnt require it)

Login to Me Too

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor

@Jesg1985 wrote: