Re: ...fees on shipping charges?

ARC
New Community Member

I agree and think it's a rip off to charge a paypal fee on shipping charges that the seller isn't paying for.  So if I sell an item on ebay for .99 cents and the actual shipping charges is $10, I have to give Paypal .59 cents or (59%) of my payment.  Does this make any sense??  Why would anyone want to sell items on EBAY for under a $1 unless they can ship it cheaply. 

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

stan331

I completely agree on the fees on shipping. We should get fees on what is sold only not with the shipping added. I'm kind of new to selling and that was confusing me. Then I refunded $5.00 to a buyers account because she purchased 3 items and the shipping was cheaper. She only ended up getting $4.85. I think the .15 was returned to me for a fee refund, I wanted her to get the full $5.00 though.:)

Login to Me Too

profdata
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

You both need to get a clue.

Merchant account fees are on the total payment amount. 

If you buy a $10.00 item with $5.00 shipping from sears, and pay using you cc.  Sears will the charges a fee on the total amount of $15.00.

using you logic a business could sell their items for a penny and charge $100.00 for shipping and only have to pay their merchant a penny in fees. 

Login to Me Too

momgotchat
Contributor
Contributor

Paypal does not charge you fees according to what you sell or amount paid on shipping.  They charge you fees for the service they are providing you to hold onto your total money's in the account. Selling has nothing to do with it. 

Login to Me Too

liuchess
Contributor
Contributor

That is correct. It's unfortunate, but no way around it.

Login to Me Too

PayPal_Adrian
PayPal Employee
PayPal Employee

Stan331,

It sounds like the refund was sent to the buyer via the Send Money tab?  That would explain the fee.