has anybody been scammed and did not get protected?

hcuello
Contributor
Contributor

I had 2 cases lately and I believe I got scammed.

In the first, I filed a case after ordering from "***" website and not receiving the item. PP paid a person at a private email so it didn't make sense.

I emailed ***and the email of the scammer but received no answers. I opened a case with PP but received no satisfaction.

I just had the almost exact same thing happen when ordering from "***". I noticed that PP paid to a private email. I tried contacting both with no luck. I suspect that this is another scam.

Has anybody dealt with these 2 sites?

I always assume the if the sires are using PP logo n their website and if they somehow arranged payment that they would be vetted by PP.

I understand that sellers do not provide a revenue stream to PP but what will happen when enough people gets scammed and quit using the service.

I have been using PP for many years and this is a recent development.

I liked the pay after receiving which was done away with but I know that sellers probably lobbied against it but again--benefits scammers.

Post edited by Moderator to comply with Community guidelines.

Login to Me Too
5 REPLIES 5

PayPal_Martina
Administrator
Administrator

Hi hcuello,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community!

I am sorry to hear about this inconvenience. From what you mentioned it sounds like you may have completed the purchases by sending money as a personal payment and not as 'Goods and Service'. When this happens, the payments are not covered under our Buyer Protection policy for Item Not Received and Item Significantly Not As Described as this type of transactions is created to share money between friends and family and not to complete a purchase.