Scammed as a seller

tehls
Contributor
Contributor

I'm a single freelance 3D artist that uses PayPal to earn money, and I have never used PayPal balance to purchase anything. I always put my PayPal balance into my card. Recently, I noticed that my balance is -£36 and I'm receiving emails from PayPal that I have to pay off this debt which I shouldn't even need to pay in the first place. On the disputes section I see 3 cases, one of which was an attempted chargeback scam and two which are possibly successful chargeback scams. I've "owed" this money for a month or two and I need help because I haven't actually done anything to get into debt in the first place, and I don't have the money to pay it off.

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@tehls 

Sadly if you are selling a service / digital or virtual items then you have little paypal seller protection.

So if the buyer has done a chargeback via their card issuer then you may well have lost and so end up having to refund + pay the card companies proessing fee leading you to a negative balance unfortunately.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

benfielding214
Contributor
Contributor

Go onto recent activity/transactions click on the transaction that is the scammed money and press report problem if the buyer doesn't respond you can escalate it (after a couple of days ) to Paypal and they will hopefully resolve the issue from there.

Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@benfielding214 

You advice is dreadful.

Advice is voluntary.
Login to Me Too

benfielding214
Contributor
Contributor

tehls
Contributor
Contributor