Possible scam

Jdogg_19
New Community Member
So I was selling an item on Facebook marketplace for 600 and asked if they do cashapp but said no so I updated my old account. They live in another state so they added 100 for shipping. Next they told me I needed to have a business account. So they sent me 350 to help open that, I was told there is a $50 compensation fee. I would receive 1100 from them total and when I do to purchase ebay gift card and add the 350 to send them the 350 back to them. So is this a scam or fraud? This is my first time actually using PayPal.
Login to Me Too
1 REPLY 1

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Jdogg_19 

Total 100% SCAM.

SCAM.

They encourage you to accept a direct Paypal payment and may ask you to send the item internationally.
No funds or activity of the transaction shows in your Paypal account and any emails may go into your junk/spam folders.

You will get/got a "fake" email that looks as though it is from paypal.....it isn't because they don't have a Paypal account and have no intention of paying you.
It will say the buyer has paid ...you won't have been paid.
They will tell you that the payment is released when you provide paypal with a tracking/shipping number......this won't happen.

Once you have become a victim they may try again with more fake Paypal emails with other reasons that you must send them a payment for custom fees / to verify, expand or upgrade an account.

Paypal NEVER tell you to send an item before the payment is showing in your paypal account.
Paypal do not tell you to send trackable, they advise it for selling protection but it is not compulsory.
Paypal NEVER expect you to use a rival money transfer service eg Moneygram, Western Union, Bank Transfer or any sort of gift token or voucher.
Delete any emails and ignore the scammers.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

Haven't Found your Answer?