PayPal suspened, available balance £1.5k.

LeeC123
Contributor
Contributor

Evening all,

This is the first post I have ever had to make on here, so I will keep it as short and concise as possible. All replies and answers are incredibly welcome.

First of all, I have been using PayPal for around 5 years now (mainly for buying purposes) with no problems and great success in that time.

As of 01/09/2019 I have incorporated my online store and business to PayPal and have been taking orders through PayPal on my website.

Since I had a personal account I thought it would be best to upgrade to a business account as PayPal promise instant withdrawals and I could greatly increase my limits. This of course requires additional verification.

Having had my account limited due to a large influx of money and orders; I submitted 4 documents that PayPal requested within 24 hours.

PayPal then terminated my account after 3 days for the reason being: "your account was created under the age of 18" but gave the option to create a new account with a different email.

Since my account was around 5 years old I would have been 16 at the time of creation (now 21) I had no idea of the over 18 policy? Regardless all my business dealings have been spot on and 100% positive within the 5 years I have used this service.

PayPal have now said they are holding my funds (£1,489.45) for 180 days, and as of now I am incredibly late on my orders and stand to lose out on a whole lot of money. One customer is even threatening me with legal action and sending abusive emails and messages. 

The customer service is unresponsive, live help is always down, the phone lines always have "unprecedented high call volume"  and I cannot access anything on my account. 

Should PayPal not have suspended my account 5 years ago, or have better screening methods for underage children to set up accounts? When I think of it, I linked all my cards up at 16/17 and was verified that way? It feels like I have been duped.