PLEASE HELP! Reported an Unauthorized Transaction Only To Have Case Closed

Notsatisfied20
New Community Member

Hello all,

I am at my wit's end. Can someone please help me? I am very close to shutting down this PayPal account and never using this service again.

I am an EMT and last night after returning from a late night cardiac call I got an email from PayPal confirming a purchase of power tools from a hardware outlet that was $453.16. This scared the death of me because I only use PayPal for online video games and ebay purchases. When I followed up on the suspicious order I also discovered it was being sent to my name but the address was in Albany New York, and I live in New Hampshire. I have never lived in NY or bought power tools, so I immediately called PayPal support to alert them of this fraudulent.

It was 4AM eastern here and I was informed by the automated message that I needed to call back at 6AM pacific time. I stayed up the next 5 hours because I am scared and pumped full adrenaline only to have the computer phone service explain they layed off their phone staff due to the corona virus and that there was no one to help me. The message then hung up on me.

I then searched the site and reported the unauthorized transaction and opened a case. But I wanted more reassurance that more fraudulent purchases were not going to be made with my account.  I spoke with an online chat agent and they assured me that if I opened a case file reporting it that it would be reviewed in a timely fashion and that there wasn't much more they could do.

I took their advice and tried to be patient. I also alerted my bank that this specific transaction was unauthorized and that I have clearly been hacked. They said Paypal hadn't posted the transaction yet and since it was a paypal problem to have patience and let them investigate.