My account has been limited!

Louise48
Contributor
Contributor

I'm new to PayPal. I was just trying to raise some extra funds for a trip to Disneyland. So my daughter began selling off a few of her unwanted items. We'd only sold three items and made £54, which was in a pending balance for 21 days. But I logged in yesterday to discover I can't use PayPal anymore. My funds have been withheld for 180 days! That's outrageous! I have tried calling PayPal for an explanation, but but it's just an automated reply and they do not call back despite having left my number. It's really frustrating. I have sent out the parcels, so providing tracking numbers, all customers received with no issues. I was only selling unwanted clothes on Facebook market place. We fly to Disneyland in 8 days and I can't access my daughters spending money as greedy PayPal are withholding it for no good reason. Really upset right now. I just wish I had sold my items by bank transfer payments rather than nasty PayPal.

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Louise48

Try phoning again but its unlikely they will give you a reason, they rarely do.

When you get through either don't say anything until you get put through OR say agent a few times.

That sometimes works in getting you through more quickly.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

Louise48
Contributor
Contributor
I tried that, and automated message advised average call wait time would be 3-5 hours! I just don't understand how they can get away with withholding customer's money. Banks would never get away with that, and and they'd have to pay interest. Does this sort of extortion happen regularly with PayPal?
Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Louise48

Paypal don't want to limit accounts, they lose money by doing so.