Leaving eBay and Paypal after 20 years

loveandsmileys
New Community Member

I am an inaugural Paypal user who remembers the $5 sign-up bonuses (and got quite a few friends/relatives to sign up), sometime around 1999. Just to put this into perspective. I've been using ebay for a few years before that, so well over 20 years. I've bought a lot of things but seldom sold. Sold a car six months ago, no problem. Sold some collectibles earlier this year. No problems, because of good buyers. Then, I inherited a new unwanted iPhone and wanted to get rid of it. Put it up for sale. Got a couple bids during the week. At the last minute, someone jumped in and sniped it. This person had just created their ebay account, same day. They paid immediately. First message, also immediately, was "Can you please ship it to this alternate address? Thank you!"

That was the beginning of hell for me two days ago. Hell dealing with eBay and Paypal and their broken integration. I told the buyer, "Absolutely not" and clicked on the cancel sale link. Whoa!! My how things have changed! I'm a seller, a big bad BUSINESS, apparently, so I have no rights. First, Paypal refused to refund their fee. It had JUST been done, minutes earlier. A $20 fee, nonrefundable. Paypal acts like they're not part of the ebay family, that they aren't an essential service. What alternatives are there? I thought, damn, why do I have to eat $20 just to get rid of this potential fraud buyer? So I sat on it a while, to see if I was missing something. Meanwhile, I reported the user to ebay security.