I have made payments, and seller's account got blocked,

JelenaMNE
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I wanted to buy a camera and transferred the money in several installments to the seller (because of the limit on my card I could not make 1 transfer with total amount). I transferred three installments, and when I was supposed to make the fourth one, I got notification that sellers account is blocked. I got in touch with the seller, and he confirmed that for some reason his account is blocked, and PayPal informed him it will take 180 days to release the funds. 

Now, I have spent my money, and I do not have camera. I make my living from photography, so it is very serious for me. The seller says that he cannot send the camera because he does not know when his funds will be released. So my money is stuck somewhere and I have no idea how to access it soon. I don't know why this happened, it is no fault of mine, but I am suffering the consequences. I come from a country that PayPal does not allow to recieve payments, only to send payments, so I am not even sure that I can get a refund. And the seller is in a different country, which additionally complicates things.

Is there a solution for my problem? I am new to PayPal, i opened the account just to be able to buy this camera from abroad, but obviously this is not the safest way to handle the payments. 

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@JelenaMNE 

How do I open a dispute with a seller when a purchase goes wrong?

You can open a dispute in the Resolution Centre of your PayPal account within 180 days of payment if:
•You don’t receive the item
•You receive an item but it’s significantly different than the description on eBay or on the seller’s website

By opening a dispute, you can communicate directly with your seller to work out a problem transaction.