I got hacked and someone scammed $2000 directly from my bank account.

AliShibaz
Contributor
Contributor

I experienced a terrible problem with PayPal that left me shaken and I decided that never again would I ever link a bank account to my PP acct.

Before I continue, I want to make it clear that PayPal was as helpful as they could be in this situation and I cannot imagine how they could have been more helpful.

I'm writing this message to ask if I would be safe from this kind of problem if I only use a confirmed bank acct instead of a linked one.

I will now describe the problem I had:

I had been using PP for many months and I was very happy with everything. I began by confirming my bank acct and then I linked my bank acct to my PP acct to make things more responsive.

But then, one day, I was reviewing my bank acct which I had linked to PP and was shocked to see that almost $2,000 had been deducted from my balance the previous day and I had no knowledge of why.

I was extremely lucky that I had chosen that day to review my bank acct balance and recent details. Previously I only did that randomly. Now I do it every day. I raced down to my bank to find out what happened. It turned out that someone living in Poland had purchased some clothing from a store in London and it was charged to my PP acct which meant (because my bank acct was linked) the money was instantly taken out of my bank acct. I told my bank that I had no knowledge of this transaction and it was not me who purchased this clothing. I was very surprised but my bank was enormously helpful. They cancelled the transaction immediately and bounced the payment back to the store that sold the clothing. However, they left me with a $60 NSF fee which they eventually reversed as well. So I was not harmed financially. But I almost had a heart attack from the shock.