Facing possible Account Limitation on 3 chargebacks from hijacked account

MentalCrash
Contributor
Contributor

As the title says, one of my costumers sent three chargebacks back in July 3rd, I of course contacted him right away on the case since the goods have already been provided, I'm a digital artist, the three items where three illustration drawn during this month and june.

The customer informed me his account had been hijacked (I can of course provided the contact info to an admin here when necessary), he told me he'd look into it and make sure the chargebacks wouldn't go through.

But, as it turns out, the first one of the three did go through today, and not only did it withdraw the total amount of the claim, I also got a 20 USD penalization fee.

Looking into the notification email I got from paypal about the resolution it states "Transaction for Digital Goods are not protected." which I find baffling since I'm being penalized even though I delivered the goods and I'm in contact with the customer, I fear the other two cases will go through with the same result, meaning I'd most likely face an Account Limitation.

I of course contacted the customer again today, demanding an explanation, he sent me money from a different account to cover the chargeback and penalization costs (I can put any admin who may look into this case in contact with the customer's both emails).

Can I get some help from a non-automated source? I've been in constant contact with the customer and I may end up facing a penalization on this account which is my livelihood.

Login to Me Too
3 REPLIES 3

Teslafan101
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

accepting Paypal payment for digital goods is not a good idea.

Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@MentalCrash 

A chargeback is not a paypal dispute, it is done directly via the buyers credit card issuer as they must have 'funded' their paypal payment that way.