Buyer disputing payment

Bilkes
Contributor
Contributor

Hey everyone. I’ve been selling on eBay for a few years and this is the first time this has happened to me, so I’m a little new to this process. On April 16, I sold a set of items to a buyer who I had messaged back and forth several times. They seemed very friendly as most of my buyers always have. They inquired about the items, purchased the items, I shipped the items, the items were delivered, the buyer thanked me in a message and positive feedback was left. All sounds pretty normal right? Well this morning on May 30, a month and a half later, I received an email from PayPal stating that the buyer has filed a payment dispute, claiming that the purchase was unauthorized. Naturally, I was very confused to see this. What do I need to do to resolve this? I did my part to the best of my ability as I do with all of my transactions, so I’m unsure how they are able to file a dispute so freely. Another concern is that the same buyer also made another large purchase from me a couple weeks later, but no dispute has been filed for that. Thanks for your time and any information to help me out with this is much appreciated.

Login to Me Too
5 REPLIES 5

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Bilkes

An unauthorised transaction means that an account holders Paypal account was hacked and used without their consent by your ?buyer.
If Paypal check IP addresses etc and find in favour of the account holder then of course they are reimbursed.

If they check and its untrue then your funds are released.
However you would not lose out as long as you met ALL the requirements of seller protection, so your best bet is to go and read up on it to make sure you were covered.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

Bilkes
Contributor
Contributor