Aggressive Behaviour Dispute

OrangeKitten
Contributor
Contributor

Hi guys, On January I made a purchase for a 5.1 Speaker System that turned out to not include a receiver. I messaged the person for a refund and he blatantly refused and recommended me get a receiver. So I looked into it and over the months I learnt that these were HTiB speakers with 4 ohms. I did get a receiver eventually but the power cut every 30 minutes. I gradually did research and learnt that you can't even use HTiB speakers on modern receivers as they may overheat and damage the receiver due to the amount of required power. I started learning a lot about speakers and due to my frustration, I have decided to sell all my speakers and just stick with PC packages. Recently I put the speakers up after reviewing all the old messages and to my suprise I found that the original listing stated that the subwoofer was powered where in fact it was actually passive... the guy also said you can use them with any receiver which is probably true for HTiB receivers but not AVR ones. The thing is that he suggested a AVR and looking at the replies he gave me, they were all aggressive. I talked to eBay and they suggested I contact PayPal for a claim. I've made one and the guy was saying that powered subwoofers can also mean the ones with a single cable... even after I gave links. He has accused me of lying due to my older listing which had a positive review but I only decided to escalate recently becsuse I retested and found that the subwoofer does not output sound... Have you guys come across anything like this? I feel I got hit by a dishonest con artist. He raised a dispute and mentioned that he has lost $300 in sales due to "people like me" which makes me wonder because I have never had issues like this as a seller.

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@OrangeKitten