Account Locked After Buying Cryptos from Paypal

KelvinM40
Contributor
Contributor

I’ve been using Paypal possibly for as long as 20 years, always using it for small dollar transactions, usually for things purchases off eBay.  However I recently discovered that cryptocurrecnies could be purchased with PayPal so I started doing that and wound up putting about $11K into Bitcoin and Ethereum.  I was aware that you can’t take delivery of the coins – that you have to let Paypal hold them in your account for you – but I was assuming that Paypal must be bound to the same rules about protecting customers’ funds as any other financial institution would be.  But now I’m getting worried, because after trying to but another $900 of crypto and the transaction didn’t go through, instead I got a notification from PayPal saying “Your account access is temporarily limited” which effectively means that my account is locked and I can neither take my money out nor use my account to make purchases from thirds parties.  PayPal asked from some documents to confirm my identity – which I supplied immediately – but three days later I still haven’t heard anything from them.

I’m guessing that the reason that my transitions might have looked suspicious to PayPal might have been as because I was connecting to Paypal with a VPN and that VPN may have caused traffic from me to be coming from a range of IP address that they have marked as ‘suspicious’.  However I am just guessing that’s the reason – since PayPal hasn’t been communicative I can only guess about what’s going on and for how long they intend to hold my money.

Login to Me Too
13 REPLIES 13

KelvinM40
Contributor
Contributor