Community Chat 2/15/12 - CLOSED

PayPal_Adrian
PayPal Employee
PayPal Employee

Hey everybody!

Join the PayPal Community Forums moderation team in our weekly Community Chat on Wednesday, February 15th, from 4 to 5 PM CST (2-3 PM PST). 

Our moderator staff will be here to answer your questions regarding PayPal - or just to get to know you. This thread will remain locked until the chat is open, so if you have a question you'd like to see answered by the community before then, please feel free to post a topic by clicking on "Post a Topic" and selecting the appropriate board.  As always, PayPal customer service can be reached by clicking on "Contact Us" and selecting help via phone or email.

See you then!

Adrian

Was my post helpful? If so, please give me a kudos!

Did my post solve the issue? If so, please accept it as a solution!
Login to Me Too
28 REPLIES 28

Dfmplz
New Community Member
Hi , I'm new to Paypal and have a question I'm purchasing a product from a stranger in a different state (both live in US) and want to know the safest way to protect myself in case of fraud. I read that "gift" ing payment is not recommended . Also if the seller says the purchase amount is $100 plus Paypal fees , what does that mean ? How much do I send to the seller that includes the Paypal fees ? Thanks for your help
Login to Me Too

PayPal_Adrian
PayPal Employee
PayPal Employee

Dfmplz -

Welcome to the Community!

We're typing up a response and will have more information for you shortly.

In the meantime, please feel free to answer today's icebreaker.

Adrian

Login to Me Too

PayPal_Adrian
PayPal Employee
PayPal Employee

Dfmplz -

Let's tackle this one bit at a time Smiley Happy

@Dfmplz wrote:
I read that "gift" ing payment is not recommended .

Definitely correct on this one.  Sending the funds as a Personal payment voids any protections for both parties.

Also if the seller says the purchase amount is $100 plus Paypal fees , what does that mean ?