Newish Account, Instant Transfer

superhobo666
Contributor
Contributor

Okay here's the deal.

I don't have a credit card (and do NOT want the Debt associated with one.)

I have my bank account linked to my verified paypal account.

I'm looking to bid on a laptop on Ebay.

I am canadian.

the seller is Canadian

99.6% feedback rating

The laptop would be too expencive for me to use a Visa gift card as a backup payment option.

What do I need to know about instant transfer? Will it work? (I have never used it before, all of my purchases where made from my paypal balance) I do not have enough funds in my paypal balance.

The seller must recieve paypal payment within 5 days of the purchase.

they can't eait for e-checks.

Is there a limit on Instant Transfer ammounts?

I've also noticed other users complaining about problems with instant transfers, and I'm a bit worried. any info is strongly apreciated.

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

PayPal_Adrian
PayPal Employee
PayPal Employee

superhobo666 -

Welcome to the Community!

Unless this is one of those listing where it's specifically listed by eBay as immediate payment required, submitting an eCheque will count as payment within 5 days.  As the seller is a fellow Canadian, I'm sure they will be more than accepting of your use of eCheque if you want to proceed without Instant Transfer.  I would shoot them a quick message before moving forward; it never hurts!

If you do decide to go forward with setting up your account for an Instant Transfer, you would need to add a credit card at some point.  I know that's not an option you're fond of at this point - and I really do applaud your responsibility and refusal to take on debt - but you might also consider adding the money into your PayPal balance in advance via the Add Money feature.  This would allow you to make an instant payment rather than waiting on the eCheque to clear over to the seller.

Thanks,

Adrian

Was my post helpful? If so, please give me a kudos!