Why is the Paypal website so slow?

ScirraTom
Contributor
Contributor

Hi there,

New to this forum.  I'm a web developer for Scirra.com

We sell mainly via Paypal.  Logging into Paypal, searching for transactions, the entire experience is frustratingly slow.

Why is the website so slow, and what are the plans to fix it?  If it continues to be as slow as it is we're happy to find a faster service.

Here's a breakdown of normal times I observe logging in and finding a transaction:

Paypal homepage: 3.5 seconds
Login page: 11 seconds
Processing login: 7 seconds
Getting to homepage: 12 seconds
Click history: 14.5 seconds
Click find a transaction: 4 seconds
Find a transaction on email: 11.5 seconds

I would expect a website like this to load under a few seconds per page.  Clicking the history button and it taking nearly 15 seconds is unusually poor performance.  I'm not even sure how you could write the history page to take that long to load.

Login to Me Too
61 REPLIES 61

JukeboxJay

My goodness. I agree completely! Its SO SLOOOOOOOOOOW!!!! I'm writing this message while waiting for the "History>Reports" page to load... 

Paypal. Step it up!!!! Come ON!!

Login to Me Too

baytrading1
Contributor
Contributor

I have sent an email again to paypal asking for someone to have a look at this thread as it does not seem that anyone is looking at it

Login to Me Too

PayPal_Sophie

Hi baytrading1,

I can assure you that we at PayPal do read all threads which are opened on the Community Forum, and we do take feedback which will help with improving our functionality and website, and forward it to the relevant department here.

Although the Community Forum is intended to be a place for customers to share experiences and discuss issues, two of my colleagues have responded to this thread previously, so I hope you can see that we are keeping an eye on things 🙂