Why is the Paypal website so slow?

ScirraTom
Contributor
Contributor

Hi there,

New to this forum.  I'm a web developer for Scirra.com

We sell mainly via Paypal.  Logging into Paypal, searching for transactions, the entire experience is frustratingly slow.

Why is the website so slow, and what are the plans to fix it?  If it continues to be as slow as it is we're happy to find a faster service.

Here's a breakdown of normal times I observe logging in and finding a transaction:

Paypal homepage: 3.5 seconds
Login page: 11 seconds
Processing login: 7 seconds
Getting to homepage: 12 seconds
Click history: 14.5 seconds
Click find a transaction: 4 seconds
Find a transaction on email: 11.5 seconds

I would expect a website like this to load under a few seconds per page.  Clicking the history button and it taking nearly 15 seconds is unusually poor performance.  I'm not even sure how you could write the history page to take that long to load.

Login to Me Too
61 REPLIES 61

PayPal_lucy

Hey there,

I just had a look there and logged on to my own account.

For the getting to the home page it only took 2 seconds and for logging in it only took 6.5 seconds.

Is anyone else experiencing longer logins etc as ScirraTom is?

Login to Me Too

DivvyDeal
Contributor
Contributor

Unfortunately I frequently get times that are comparable to the initial poster's times. This is the slowest website I use and having to use it on a daily basis adds to my stress levels as I have to clock watch so often.

I try to find transactions by using exact date ranges yet it still takes forever and the new Transaction finder email option is riduculous as it will only recall the last three requests and I can do maybe 3 reports in an hour so I would often lose track of these emails, as I multitask onto other jobs and leave Paypal to run.

More servers required?

Better written queries?

It is painful. Please PP throw us a bone!

Login to Me Too

PayPal_lucy

Hey there,