"Unauthorized Payment" dispute

SentientObserve
New Community Member

I have been selling on eBay and using PayPal for approximately 20 years and have never had a problem before.

I received an odd email from PayPal this morning. It is regarding an eBay sale I made in 2015. I still have the emails from that transaction in my email inbox. It appears to have been a routine sale where I received funds, mailed the item, and did not receive any more communication from the buyer.

In the PayPal dispute center, it states that, "The buyer has filed a claim stating this transaction was made without the account holder’s knowledge or consent."

Confused, I called PayPal's customer service line and was referred to eBay. The woman who answered at eBay said their records do not go back that far into the past and she could not assist me.

The dispute is still open at PayPal.

I did a little searching online and it seems this problem has come up for others before, however it seems to resolve itself somehow. I can find very few details.

What worries me is that I have had a hold placed on funds in my PayPal account until this is resolved. The implication I am seeing is that I somehow hacked into the buyer's eBay and/or PayPal account and sent myself the funds. I did neither, I do not know the buyer personally, nor has that person won another auction from me ever in the past.