When will payments be released from "on hold?"

Vaxious
Contributor
Contributor

I sold this playstation store card but I sent it via eBay message because I'm not really good with shipping items. It was an extra card I had and I didn't want it. The person's address was from puerto rico but on paypal it says confirmed. His account info also matched his eBay info. He also had around 23 feedback but only 1 was within the past year. His account was created in 2012 so I assumed he was legit. I sent the code, a few hours later I sent him a message asking if he has received it and he replied yes. I check the code and it's used so everything is fine. I've received the payment before I sent the code but when I check the hold date on paypal, it says "Try Later." I sold another card and it has a date of April 27th. Did I get scammed or is something else wrong? Oh also even though his address was confirmed, his paypal was unverified which I didn't find out until about now. I believe for shipping I put like 1-3 business days and I assume it's like 21 calendar days until I'll receive full control of the payment. Also on ebay, the second sale shows the date my funds will be available. The sale I'm worried about doesn't show that and it's not even under the pending funds tab on ebay.

Login to Me Too
8 REPLIES 8

Whac-A-Mole
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

there is no Paypal seller protection for digital goods,if he files item not received,you lose.

but he is not complaining,so you should mark the item shipped and wait .

some sellers would mail a thank you note with a piece of candy with tracking so he can prove he has shipped with tracking,cost is $2.61 for first class light weight item

Login to Me Too

Vaxious
Contributor
Contributor

So what happened is that the second buyer who I wasn't skeptical about was actually the one who used the code and opened a dispute for "Unauthorized Claim." They are refusing to communicate and they just scammed me.

Login to Me Too