Sell an item on eBay and accept payment on PayPal

Sarah121
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

i am new to PayPal and eBay.  I am selling a single item on eBay and need to accept payment via PayPal.  When I set up my PayPal account, the system asks if I want to connect a credit card or bank account to make purchases.  I do not want to use PayPal for purchases; I just need to accept a single payment.  How do I do this?  What type of PayPal account do I create?

Thank you for any help you can offer.

Login to Me Too
7 REPLIES 7

Linc1957
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

@Sarah121 In order to Sell on eBay and use PayPal you need to link a bank account (checking) and credit card to the PayPal account and you do that on the PayPal web site, they have a step by step process for you to follow.  Then when you create your eBay listing(s) there will be a check box to Accept PayPal for payment and a window to put your email address in so the $$ gets sent to your PayPal account from your Buyers.  Buyers can NOT see your email address just so you know.  That's pretty much how it works.  Once you have built up $$ in PayPal you can transfer it to your bank account electronically which is extremely simple.  I am sure you may be leery of this type of arragnement but keep this in mind:   Last year eBay published that they have over 25 MILLION registered Selling accounts and over 165 MILLION registered Buying accounts.  So the system is obviously pretty safe.

And while initially you may not plan to use PayPal to buy anything with we have found it very beneficial to use it for that purpose.  PayPal support many different businesses and we can use the $$ earned from eBay sales to pay for other things ...

Login to Me Too

Sarah121
Contributor
Contributor