Please add a debit or credit card to complete your purchase.

nembsuu
Contributor
Contributor

Hi! So, for the last couple purchase attempts paypal has prompted me to add a credit card to my account even tho I have sufficient funds on paypal balance. I've been using paypal since 2012 and never had to add a CC to my account, and I never will. Why promt me to add a CC to account when there´s enough money on balance? Is there a way to around this? If not I'll just move to another service. 

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

nembsuu
Contributor
Contributor
Ok, fair enough. Then my time here is over. Thanks for the fast replies.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
8 REPLIES 8

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@nembsuu

You have been lucky, normally paypal don't allow you to use funds in your paypal account balance without verifying your paypal account first with a debit or credit card.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

nembsuu
Contributor
Contributor
@kernowlass

Does this mean I wont be able to buy with paypal anymore? I've usually used instant top up to transfer funds from my bank acct (not linked either) so that I can pay for my stuff via balance. It's a shame if this is the end of the road with paypal.
Login to Me Too

Whac-A-Mole
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

too much fraud in cyberspace,asking a user to add a card means Paypal can charge the card if something went wrong and PAYPAL would like to recover its loss,also card gives you verification

Login to Me Too

Whac-A-Mole
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

if you dont have card or bank linked to Paypal,thats not making Paypal feel comfortable dealing with you,if you are not willing to link,then find another payment processor

Login to Me Too
Solved

nembsuu
Contributor
Contributor
Ok, fair enough. Then my time here is over. Thanks for the fast replies.
Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor